Faith in the Book of Jonah

My Father and I have been discussing the topic of faith in the Old Testament. Specifically what was the Old Testament version of the Gospel. The Book of Jonah has a fair amount to say on this topic.
Recently I listened to a study on the Book of Jonah taught by Pastor Clay Ward of Pleroma Bible Church who covers the subject matter as thoroughly as I have ever heard. Jonah 1:9 says:

9 So he said to them, “I am a Hebrew; and I fear the Lord, the God of heaven, who made the sea and the dry land.”

Pastor Ward says that when Jonah states that he “fears the Lord” he is identifying himself as a believer. Of course it isn’t that cut and dried since, according to Pastor Ward, fearing the Lord can be used in both a justification sense (saving faith in the Lord) and in a sanctification sense (doing what God expects of the believer). In this case Jonah was using “fear the Lord” in the justification sense because he was not obeying the Lord when he was speaking in that verse.

In lesson 6 of his study of Jonah, Pastor Ward discusses the Phoenician sailors and states that they did believe in Yahweh (Jehovah). He begins discussion of this at about the 45 minute mark of lesson 6:

06 – The Book of Jonah – The Great Storm

Pastor ward continues teaching on this topic in the following lesson:

07 – The Book of Jonah – Prophet Overboard

Then there is the response of the city of Nineveh to Jonah’s message:

16 – The Book of Jonah – The Response of Nineveh

There is a lot to think about in these lessons. Enjoy!

NOTE: I have checked the CD that I uploaded this lesson from along with the other materials I have from Pleroma Bible Church and I see no copyright or language prohibiting me from uploading this lesson. If anyone from Pleroma Bible Church finds this post and thinks I have violated any laws please let me know and I will delete this post immediately.

Explore posts in the same categories: Faith

One Comment on “Faith in the Book of Jonah”


  1. […] More: Faith in the Book of Jonah Tags: change, church, css, facebook-photo, faith, lord, prophet, religion, topic Posted in […]


Leave a Reply

