Talking to Mormon’s (LDS) and Jehovah’s Witnesses

This has been a busy week for me and I haven’t been able to put much time into blog writing. I do have something to share that I think is very interesting though the post will be short. Sometimes good things come in small packages.

One of the reasons I started this blog was so I could organize and collect all of the cool information I have found on the internet. In that spirit I present you all with the following resource:

Behold, I Stand at the Door and Knock
What to say to Mormons and Jehovah’s Witnesses when they knock on your door
by Michael Licona

The book is fifty-two pages long and spends about an equal amount of space discussing issues related to each group. I think this would be a good resource for personal Bible study since the topics touch on many fundamental Christian doctrines.

This is a subject that hits home with me. I grew up in Colorado where there is a larger population of Mormons (aka the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints) than there are in most states. Just like Mr. Licona says they are generally friendly and trustworthy people (they follow the Ten Commandments better than most Christians I know). I cannot remember giving any of them the gospel which I should have done. It wouldn’t have been difficult to do since they are taught to take any opportunity to proselytize.

In the introduction Mr. Licona writes:

If you want to be ready the next time they come, this book is for you. Its purpose is to provide the knowledge you need to see why these groups do not represent God’s truth and to share this information effectively with Mormons and Jehovah’s Witnesses the next time they knock on your door!

In the book Mr. Licona doesn’t explicitly mention giving the gospel to them but then I don’t think he really has to. If any of you follow his guidance you will have multiple opportunities to provide the gospel. Of course it is a lot easier to do that when you are properly prepared.

Explore posts in the same categories: Salvation

One Comment on “Talking to Mormon’s (LDS) and Jehovah’s Witnesses”


  1. Very good post. I actually just stumbled upon your current blog plus wanted expressing we need very enjoyed studying your own blog site posts. Anyways I’ll often be following to the blog plus I hope you actually post again in the near future.


Leave a Reply

