Thanksgiving 2011

I won’t be posting a regular article this week because of the Thanksgiving holiday. Right now I plan on spending a very long weekend at my in-laws’ home taking it easy and eating too much rich food. It sounds wonderful and I am looking forward to it.

Even though I won’t be posting a regular article I have been thinking about posting one of those what-I-am-thankful-for articles that are always the rage this time of year. I have read a lot of those and they are usually a laundry list of the good things in the writer’s life at the moment. I suppose that is fine but have you ever noticed that no matter how hard the author tries their list always seems incomplete? It’s not that I can do a more complete job but I think that their emphasis is wrong and I have decided, through the study of scripture, that what we emphasize in life (our priorities) is what makes all of the difference.

So, here are the top things that I am thankful for:

1. I am thankful for my eternal salvation provided by the sacrifice of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

There is nothing more important than that for any of us. For anyone who hasn’t made that decision yet please read A Matter of Life and Death.

2. I am thankful for the wisdom that God has now made available to me.

Life is a matter of priorities and God has told me the priorities I need to have a good life:

The fear of the LORD
is the beginning of knowledge;
fools despise wisdom and instruction.
Proverbs 1:7

The word wisdom here is the key concept. If you follow the link you will get Strong’s definition of the Hebrew word chokmah which is translated wisdom. According to Jeffrey Gutterman the Jewish concept of wisdom is much fuller than what Strong’s shows: it is knowledge for living a good life and that knowledge is now available to me. What a wonderful gift to be thankful for!

3. I am thankful for the wonderful wife, partner, and friend that God has given me.

If you ever read the Book of Proverbs you will find that both wisdom and foolishness are personified as women. There is a passage in Proverbs where the personification of foolishness uses the loneliness of men to lure them to their destruction. If you have ever been truly lonely it is easy to understand how that can happen. I met my wife a little over eighteen years ago and I am no longer lonely. For this I am truly grateful.

4. I am grateful for two wonderful daughters who are the joy of my life.

What more do I need to say?

5. I am grateful for gainful employment which supports the wonderful family that God has given me.

This is no small thing. I don’t write this just because the economy is bad but also because a full third of my office was laid off last week. I won’t go into any detail because if my management were to ever find out that I posted something negative about them on the internet the repercussions would be ugly and predictable. Let’s just say that they didn’t follow King Solomon’s principles for good leaders.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!

Explore posts in the same categories: General Interest

2 Comments on “Thanksgiving 2011”


  1. We should always remember it is the Lord who gives the knowledge, wisdom, and understanding to attain wealth.

    • Glenn Says:

      Hello Diego,

      The Lord does give us knowledge, wisdom, and understanding but the primary purpose of this knowledge is not the acquisition of wealth but to glorify God. But all good things come from God and I am thankful that I have been blessed as I have.

      Thank you for your comment. Stop by any time you like.

      Glenn


Leave a Reply

