Ecclesiastes 3:12-13

Since this has been a light week blogging for me I thought I would put up a second short post. I am currently reading a commentary on the book of Ecclesiastes written by Robert McLaughlin (check out his website here). This quote caught my attention today so I thought I would share it:

Ecclesiastes 3:12-13. “I know that there is nothing better for them than to rejoice and do good in one’s lifetime; moreover, that every man who eats and drinks sees good in all his labor — it is the gift of God.”

Notice that God has given us four things in this passage. First, He’s the one who gives us the ability to rejoice and enjoy life; there’s nothing better for us than to rejoice. God’s perspective and hope gives the believer the ability to rejoice regardless of the circumstances. The second thing that God gives is the ability to produce divine good in one’s lifetime. Notice that the doing of good is in this lifetime. Galatians 6:10, “So then, while we have opportunity, let us do good to all men, and especially to those who are of the household of the faith.”

There is a third gift in verse 13, which is an appetite to eat and drink. People who are very successful and wealthy don’t always have an appetite. Quite like a good night’s sleep, it can’t be bought. One can buy drugs to put him to sleep, but he cannot buy the ability to sleep. This is a gift from God. Then there’s a fourth gift mentioned in verse 13, to see good in all our labor, it is the gift of God. Solomon said that each of these four things is a gift from God, as does James 1:17, “Every good thing bestowed and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom no variation, or shifting shadow.”

The Eight Experiments of Man: A Commentary on the Book of Ecclesiastes
p. 88
Robert R. McLaughlin

We live in a time and place where many of us, myself included, struggle with enjoying the things we are meant to enjoy. Capacity for life comes from God and a lot of us are missing out on it!

Explore posts in the same categories: General Interest

5 Comments on “Ecclesiastes 3:12-13”


  1. i just loved this reading,again a sunshine came to me,GOD always been my best friend and never let me down even in my darkest periods i knew he was there watching me to clime the mountain,thank you

  2. Glenn Says:

    ilovebeeswarzone,

    I am glad you stopped by! God is the one person that we can always depend on. There is so much assurance and grace in the scriptures that it saddens me when so many people turn away from it.

    Glenn

  3. Grace Says:

    I’ve been struggling with a feeling of guilt over what I have when so many people have so little. I know that guilt is not from God and I appreciate this word that speaks God’s truth. I hope I will be able to find more to read on this subject that I’m sure many American’s struggle with.

  4. Glenn Says:

    Hi Grace,

    I think a lot of people struggle with the same things that you do (I know I do). The one thing I always keep in mind is that God is the source of our prosperity and His provisions for us are for a reason, God is not arbitrary.

    Robert McLaughlin has another publication titled “The Doctrine of Prosperity” (you can link to the online version here) which you may find interesting. The first paragraph states:

    We start with two simple yet very important principles: First, God is the source of all prosperity. Secondly, what God does for one, He will do for others. 2Ti 3:16 says that all Scripture is inspired by God. Act 10:34 tells us that God is not one to show partiality. We trust God’s Word when it comes to the great doctrines of the Bible, so it should follow that we also trust in His Word when it comes to our finances, and according to the Bible, God wants every believer to prosper.

    I find that quote to be of great comfort.

    Glenn

    P.S. I should have mentioned that Pastor McLaughlin does not teach what I believe is called “the prosperity gospel” which is so popular right now. He does not teach that if you are a believer that God will make you wealthy and if a Christian is not wealthy then something is wrong with them. In fact he touches on that in the link I provided and declares it to be false teaching. I thought I had better mention that unless you got the wrong idea.

  5. heavenbound Says:

    Since I am fast approaching the age of 60. I am seriously considering retiring.
    I now have a passport. Point me to the beach and the golf course. People say that I enjoy life, and I reply someone has to be me, I might as well be me. Enjoying life is really a blessing but as we all say, you can have more money than you can spend, but if you don’t have your health, you got nothing.
    Today is the oldest you have ever been and enjoy it like it may be your last.
    I thank God every day, that I know, what I know and what I know is this,
    we have peace from God thru Christ Jesus.


Leave a Reply

