The Talmud and the Magisterium

I will be away from my blog for a long weekend of eating cookies and being lazy. So, I won’t be able to respond to any comments until Sunday at the earliest and I probably won’t post any new articles for a week and a half.

That being said, when I was researching for my previous article on building fences how similar in concept the Jewish Talmud and the Roman Catholic Magisterium are. I did not say they are the same in the particulars but that they are similar in concept. Both of these claim to be oral laws (or traditions) which supplement the written scriptures and to also be the sole authorities when interpreting the written scriptures. I was surprised to find such a parallel between Judaism and Catholicism.

I am not posting this because I approve. Rather, the opposite is true. I believe that both oral traditions have come into conflict with the written scriptures and that no amount of mental gymnastics will ever reconcile the written scriptures with these oral traditions.

Explore posts in the same categories: General Interest

Leave a Reply

