Why This Blog?

I am a technical person who over the years has done a lot of internal consulting work. One of the pitfalls of this kind of work is that management will come to me with a project but be quiet about why they need it. They either believe that their needs are obvious or that the reasons don’t matter. Nothing could be further from the truth. Knowing why someone needs information (or, in the case of this blog, provides information) is critical. So, in a spirit of “doing it right” I have decided to share with my visitors why I have started this blog.

For those of you who would like to just “cut to the chase” here is the short version:

  1. Over the last ten years I have slowly but surely found resources on the internet that were not easy to find so I have decided to make some of them available on this blog through links and posts. I would have loved to have found a site like this when I started searching the internet.
  2. There are doctrines that I grew up with (I am a what many would call a classic dispensationalist) that are pertinent to things going on in the United States and the world today but very few in mainstream Christianity are discussing them from a perspective that I recognize as being solidly grounded in scripture. This should be a great forum to post these doctrines and give them a bit more visibility.
  3. Then, building on item 2, occasionally make applications of these doctrines to current events.

Now, for those of you who would like the long version please keep reading.

In the 1990s I subscribed to First Things a magazine (or is it a journal?) founded and edited by Richard John Neuhaus. I enjoyed some of the articles (FT is Roman Catholic in theology) but what I really subscribed for was the “In the Public Square” feature which was at the back of every issue. This gave a summary of goings on in the American Church and I felt that it was the only way I could discover what was happening in American Christendom.

Then two things happened which made me drop my subscription to FT and never look back. First, I was reading along in an article written by Rev. Neuhaus (I won’t call him father since he is not my earthly or heavenly father) where he was discussing the different threads of American Christianity. Since he started out being a Lutheran he was, of course, very conciliatory toward Lutherans. What about Calvinists? They weren’t as good as Lutherans but he had a lot of respect for them too. He worked his way through all the different groups until he came to the butt end of American Christendom, the dispensationalists. He tried to be nice but he obviously didn’t like them. The problem was that I am a dispensationalist and his attitude (it seemed condescending) really hacked me off.

In the very next issue of FT there was an article by Rev. Neuhaus’ good friend Avery Cardinal Dulles (who, I have to admit, I never liked). As I was slogging through the article I got to a section where Cardinal Dulles talked about the Catholic Church’s burning of “heretics” like John Huss (he listed several). His attitude was one of “I’m not sure we should have burned them but boys will be boys” condescension. I set down the magazine and walked away never to come back.

I decided with the internet that I could find out what I wanted to know and I didn’t need a subscription to FT. I was especially interested in finding resources having a dispensationalist perspective, there didn’t seem to be a lot of us running around.

Over the last ten years, bit by bit, I have amassed a lot of links, articles, and general information that was not always easy to find. Of course, if you are just interested in finding news about what is going on in the mainline denominations then there is a ton of information now available. If you want to intersect American Christianity and current events with dispensationalism then you are going to have a much harder time. So, I have decided to make the resources I have found available in one place and add my two cents worth. Really, isn’t this the best of both worlds? A combination of what I find interesting along with my opinions on it!

Explore posts in the same categories: FYI

3 Comments on “Why This Blog?”

  1. Rikki Tienzo Says:

    Dearest brother Glenn,

    Are you familiar with the brethren movement and the assemblies now existing due to their ministry? We no longer associate ourselves with J.N. Darby but we pretty much teach the same “stuff.” I love what I read in your blog and would love to fellowship exchanging thoughts and points of doctrine.

    In Christ’s joy,
    Rikki

  2. Glenn Says:

    Hi Rikki,

    I know that J.N. Darby founded the Plymouth Brethren but beyond that I really don’t know much about their teachings. I have always enjoyed interacting with visitors to my blog and I encourage you to comment on any of my posts.

    Thank you for stopping by.

    Glenn

    • Rikki Tienzo Says:

      Thank you for the right hand of fellowship 🙂 We are pretty much like you except for some details, nothing major. I just want you to know that I am looking around your blog. God bless you!


Leave a Reply

