Am I Mad?

My previous post was on the divine institutions. I have an example from two days ago that I believe will demonstrate how an understanding of the divine institutions can affect a persons view of current events.

I read, or at least scan, a lot of blogs and news sites every day. I like to be informed even though I don’t always like what I read. Over the last four years one of the writers that I will read every chance I get is Doug Giles. Doug is a pastor of a church in Florida with a decidedly reformed bent (that usually doesn’t bother me). If you have not heard of Doug you have probably heard of his daughter Hanna Giles, she is the woman who posed as a prostitute in the ACORN sting that has made so much news lately.

This last Friday I was skimming through the Big Hollywood site when what do I see but an article by Doug. The articles title is 10 Reasons Why Pastors Avoid the Culture War which of course caught my attention. Well I start reading through it and was doing alright until I get to reason #4:

4. Last Days Madness: Many ministers do not get involved in political issues because they believe that “it simply doesn’t matter” since “the end has come.” These defeatists believe that any change in the jet stream, war, earthquakes, a warming globe, the success of a corrupt politician—or even a new Shakira video—are “proof” that God is getting really, really ticked off and that His only recourse is to have Christ physically return and kick some major butt.  Attempting to right culture is, in the defeatists’ eyes, equivalent to polishing brass on a sinking ship; therefore, they are content to simply pass out gospel tracts, tramp from Christian rock concert to Christian rock concert, eat fatty foods and stare at Christian TV.

I am glad I wasn’t drinking any coffee at the time or I would have spewed it all over my monitor. Let me be clear about this: I am a premillennialist and make no apologies about it. I do not hold that “it [politics] simply does not matter” and I am most definitely not a defeatist. I will also say for the record that I don’t appreciate this stuff coming from every postmillennialist with a chip on his shoulder. There, now I feel better.

Do I believe that the sinking ship that is our country can be saved? Of course I do. I just don’t believe that the way to save it is by passing laws and walking a picket line. I believe that the country can be strengthened by reversing the damage to the divine institutions and that begins with the individual.

Maybe Doug doesn’t know any premillenial pastors that teach personal responsibility? If that is the case I can give him some names.

Good luck saving the world from the top down Doug. If you can change things by starting at the national level and working your way down then more power to you but it sure looks to me like you’ve got the tail wagging the dog.

Explore posts in the same categories: Divine Institutions, Society & Culture

One Comment on “Am I Mad?”

  1. Rose Says:

    Let me be clear about this: I am a premillennialist and make no apologies about it. I do not hold that “it [politics] simply does not matter” and I am most definitely not a defeatist.

    Me too!! Good stuff, Glenn.


Leave a Reply

