Commenting Guidelines

I don’t expect to get a lot of comments on this blog so hopefully the few of you who visit will be courteous. However, I have seen where this is not always the case so I have decided to lay down a few simple rules.

  1. It should be obvious but I had better make sure you all know not to swear at each other. That includes not only cuss words of the four letter variety but those cute put downs that are all the rage.
  2. If we ever do get into a situation where tempers flare I expect you all to stay on topic and not get personal (no ad hominem!).
  3. You may take another person’s arguments to what you believe are their logical conclusions to show that they don’t work. If you feel that conclusion is wrong that is fine but you cannot impute evil motives to the author. Just because you would have meant something unsavory if you wrote a particular statement doesn’t mean the actual author meant it that way!

I should also remind you that I have the authority to modify, delete, and ban if need be. All I ask is for some common courtesy.

Explore posts in the same categories: FYI

4 Comments on “Commenting Guidelines”

  1. Dave Says:

    What good is this blog if I can’t yell and call you names??? Just kidding! Good to hear from you again and thanks for the invite!

    Dave

    • Glenn Says:

      Hi Dave!

      Glad you could stop by. Unfortunately, I felt like I had to say set up some guidelines even though I expect my visitors to be of the highest character with perfect self control. šŸ˜€

      I hope to be hearing from you some more.

      Glenn

      • Dave Says:

        Guidelines are good to have. You will find that there are Internet trolls that will seek to ruin your site by promoting their heresy so be careful for them as they will come. Whenever grace is being preached then they will come. I sound like the movie ‘The Field of Dreams.’

        Lord Bless,

        Dave

  2. Rose Says:

    All I ask is for some common courtesy.

    Doesn’t seem like it should be too much to ask for…


Leave a Reply

